Research & Practitioner Full Papers

The International Conference on Theory and Practice of Digital Libraries (TPDL) is a yearly date for researchers on Digital Libraries and related topics. For over twenty-five years TPDL has been an international reference forum focused on digital libraries and associated technical, practical, and social issues.

Important dates

Main Conference: September 20–23, 2022

Research and Practitioner papers:

  • submission: 22 May 2022 29 May 2022 (AoE)
  • notification: 8 July 2022 (AoE)
  • camera-ready for all the submissions: 25 July 2022


EasyChair submission link for TPDL 2022:

Submission Guidelines

Research Papers (up to 12 pages + unlimited references) present high-quality, original research of relevance to the TPDL community. Submissions should detail their methods and techniques in sufficient detail to enable replication and reuse. Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings and presented as long conference talks.
Papers must be in the Springer LNCS styleLNCS style

Authors should consult Springer’s authors’ guidelines and use the proceedings templates provided.


The use of author ORCIDs is recommended. In addition, the corresponding author of each accepted paper, acting on behalf of all of the authors of that paper, must complete and sign a Consent-to-Publish form. The corresponding author signing the copyright form should match the corresponding author marked on the paper. Once the paper has been submitted, changes relating to its authorship cannot be made.

Topics of Interest

Submissions are welcome concerning theory, architectures, data models, tools, services, infrastructures about the following topics (but not limited to):

Publishing science
  •  FAIR data and software
  •  Research objects
  •  Nanopublications
  •  Data and Information Lifecycle (creation, store, share, and reuse)
  •  Data and Document Provenance
  •  Linked Data and Open Data
  •  Digital Preservation and Curation
  •  Supporting Science Reproducibility
  •  Metadata
  •  Research Data Management
  •  Research Output Management
  •  Data Repositories and Archives
  •  Data and Research Infrastructure
  •  Data Stewardship

Discovering science
  •  Information Retrieval
  •  Data Search
  •  Research Data Discovery
  •  Recommendation systems
  •  Document (Text) Analysis in support of discovery
  •  Multimodal and Multilingual Data Access

Monitoring and assessment of science
  •  Data Citation
  •  Scientometrics and bibliometrics
  •  Scholarly Communication Knowledge Graphs

Knowledge creation
  •  AI / Machine Learning/ Data mining for DLs
  •  Knowledge Bases
  •  Entity Extraction and Linking
  •  Ontology

Digital Humanities
  •  Digital Cultural Heritage
  •  Digital Terminology
  •  Computational Linguistics
  •  Digital History
  •  Digital Archeology
  •  Knowledge Organization for Digital Humanities
  •  Digital Research Methods on Cultural Heritage
  •  Digital interfaces for Digital Humanities Research and Practice

Human-Computer Interaction
  •  User Interface and Experience in Cultural Heritage Institutions
  •  Information Interaction for Cultural Heritage Applications
  •  User Participation
  •  User Experience
  •  Information Visualization and Visual Analytics


Program Chairs

Oscar Corcho, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM), Spain
Paolo Manghi, ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy

Senior Program Committee

Trond Aalborg, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Maristella Agosti, University of Padua, Italy
Omar Alonso, Instacart, USA
Amir Aryani, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Sören Auer, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany
José Borbinha, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
George Buchanan, The University of Melbourne, Australia
Donatella Castelli, ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy
Fabien Duchateau, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1 - LIRIS, France
Edward Fox, Virginia Tech, USA
Norbert Fuhr, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Carole Goble, The University of Manchester, UK
Mark Michael Hall, The Open University, UK
Martin Klein, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
Michael Nelson, Old Dominion University, USA
Christos Papatheodorou, University of Athens, Greece
Gabriella Pasi, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Thomas Risse, University of Frankfurt, Germany
Herbert Van de Sompel, Data Archiving Networked Services, The Netherlands
Ludo Waltman, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Program Committee

Sawood Alam, Internet Archive, USA
Marco Angelini, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Carlos Badenes-Olmedo, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Miriam Baglioni, ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy
Wolf-Tilo Balke, TU Braunschweig, Germany
Alessia Bardi, ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy
Carlos Bobed, University of Zaragoza, Spain
José Borbinha, The University of Melbourne, Australia
Ricardo Campos, Polytechnic Institute of Tomar, Portugal
Annalina Caputo, Dublin City University, Ireland
Michelangelo Ceci, University of Bari, Italy
Yinlin Chen, Virginia Tech, USA
Marilena Daquino, University of Bologna, Italy
Boris Dobrov, Moscow State University, Russia
Dennis Dosso, University of Padua, Italy
Guglielmo Faggioli, University of Padua, Italy
Stefano Ferilli, University of Bari, Italy
Nuno Freire, INESC-ID, Portugal
Yannis Foufoulas, University of Athens, Greece
Fabio Giachelle, University of Padua, Italy
Jose Manuel Gomez-Perez,
Antoine Isaac, Europeana & VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Adam Jatowt, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Jaap Kamps, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Johannes Kiesel, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Germany
Petr Knoth, The Open University, UK
Maurizio Lana, Università del Piemonte Orientale, Italy
Maria Maistro, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Andrea Mannocci, ISTI-CNR, Italy
Stefano Marchesin, University of Padua, Italy
Reme Melero, Spanish National Research Council, Spain
Eva Méndez, University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain
Nicola Orio, University of Padua, Italy
Francesco Osborne, The Open University, UK
Silvio Peroni, University of Bologna, Italy
Simone Paolo Ponzetto, University of Mannheim, Germany
Edie Rasmussen, The University of British Columbia, Canada
Andreas Rauber, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Cristina Ribeiro, University of Porto, Portugal
Irene Rodrigues, Universidade de Evora, Portugal
Idafen Santana-Perez, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Andrea Scharnhorst, The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, The Netherlands
Heiko Schuldt, University of Basel, Switzerland
Giuseppe Serra, University of Udine, Italy
Markus Stocker, German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB), Germany
Shigeo Sugimoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Hussein Suleman, University of Cape Town, South Africa
Atsuhiro Takasu, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
Anna Maria Tammaro, University of Parma, Italy
Carla Teixeira Lopes, University of Porto, Portugal
Francesca Tomasi, University of Bologna, Italy
Pertti Vakkari, Tampere University, Finland
Marieke Van Erp, KNAW Humanities Cluster, The Netherlands
Thanasis Vergoulis, "Athena" Research and Innovation Center, Greece
Marco Viviani, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Stefanos Vrochidis, Centre for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece
David Walsh, Edge Hill University, UK
Michele Weigle, Old Dominion University, USA